Bachelor's program

BA Comparative Linguistics

The BA program Comparative Linguistics offers a comprehensive curriculum in empirically oriented linguistics. The major foci of the program are: language change, language processing, and language development (ontogeny). Both major and minor programs are based on compulsory introductory modules covering the following areas: (1) the basic concepts in all major linguistic domains as well as skills in analytic tools, (2) methods and linguistic theory, (3) basic techniques in quantitative and statistical analysis, (4) computational data processing (advanced computer literacy), and (5) the acquisition and sharing of information in linguistic research.

Course of Studies

In the study of language change, core topics include mechanisms and causes of language change, both in specific geographical-cultural areas (with Indo-European as one major point of interest) and worldwide across diverse families. In the area of language processing, the program puts special emphasis on grammar and phonology, while the courses on language ontogeny focus on cross-linguistic and individual variation in how children acquire language. All courses give special importance to methodology.

A wide variety of electives complement the basic courses, fostering in-depth knowledge and skills in different areas. This includes building up an adequate language portfolio consisting of (Indo-)European and non-European languages, skills in data acquisition and data management (compilation, selection, annotation of corpora, as well as familiarity with ethical and legal issues; development and use of linguistic databases), data analysis (techniques of quantitative analysis, data processing, and basic scripting), quantitative methods (statistical modeling) as well as in-depth qualitative structural analysis.

Career prospects

The program primarily qualifies for a career in academic research and teaching within the discipline covered by the program. Non-academic professions include language and communication technology, language planning, as well as public service.

Bachelorprogramm

BA Vergleichende Sprachwissenschaft

Der BA Vergleichende Sprachwissenschaft bietet eine umfassende Ausbildung in empirisch orientierter Sprachwissenschaft, in deren Zentrum der Sprachwandel, die Sprachverarbeitung und die Sprachentwicklung (Ontogenese) stehen. Das Programm basiert in der Major- und Mono-Version auf  einem obligatorischen Sockel mit Modulen zu folgenden Bereichen: (1) grundlegendes Fachwissen in allen linguistischen Teilbereichen und Beherrschung des analytischen Handwerks; (2) Methoden und linguistische Theorie; (3) Grundlagen quantitativer und statistischer Analyse; (4) computergestützte Datenbearbeitung (advanced computer literacy); (5) Praxis der Informationsbeschaffung und -vermittlung. 

Studienverlauf

Im Bereich Sprachwandel stehen die Mechanismen und Ursachen von Sprachwandel sowohl in einzelnen geographisch-kulturellen Arealen und Sprachfamilien – mit einem besonderen Schwerpunkt in den indogermanischen Sprachen – als auch global über Sprachfamilien hinweg im Mittelpunkt. In der Sprachverarbeitung zielt das Studienprogramm auf eine Ausbildung in den Bereichen Grammatik und Phonologie ab, und im Zentrum der Ausbildung in der Sprachontogenese liegt der Fokus auf den Mechanismen des Erstspracherwerbs. Sprachverarbeitung und Erstspracherwerb setzen dabei einen inhaltlichen Schwerpunkt in der Variation zwischen Sprachen und Individuen. In allen Bereichen wird besonderes Gewicht auf Methodenkompetenz gelegt. 

Ergänzt wird die Grundausbildung durch ein vertieftes Wissen in Wahlbereichen. Dies betrifft insbesondere den Aufbau eines angemessenen Sprachportfolios, Kenntnisse der Datenerhebung und des Datenmanagements (Aufbau, Auswahl, Annotation und ethisch-rechtliche Grundlagen von Korpora; Entwicklung und Nutzung sprachstruktureller Datenbanken), Datenanalyse (qualitative Analysetechniken, Datenverarbeitungstechniken, grundlegende Programmiertechniken), Quantitative Methoden (statistische Modelle) sowie vertiefte qualitative Strukturanalyse.

Berufsaussichten

Das Studium qualifiziert primär für eine Laufbahn in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung und Lehre in den Disziplinen des Studienprogramms. Ausseruniversitäre Tätigkeitsfelder finden sich z.B. in  den Bereichen Sprach- und Kommunikationstechnologie, Sprachplanung und öffentlicher Dienst.